My Self Care Sunday Routine

Blogging is hard. I’ve thought a lot about what I wanted my first words back on the blog to be and Blogging is hard seems appropriate. In the past few months my life has changed so much. I am now working full time in the healthcare field and continuing to work on the magazine during my time off. With my hectic schedule, now more than ever, self care has become extremely important to me. I am still working on incorporating self care throughout my day but for now I continue to have self care Sundays. On Sundays I usually plan as little as possible and focus the majority of my day on reenergizing and checking in with myself before the week begins. This self care Sunday post is all about my new self care Sunday routine. So here it goes, my first blog back since my blogging hiatus.

Meal prep + planning

This week was my first time meal planning and prepping since I started working. Making the decision to do this was not a difficult one. Especially since I calculated how much I had spent during my first month at work(it was in the high hundreds). I thought of meal prep as a tedious task but it actually became very healing for me. I cooked my meals with intention and was very mindful of every step, smell, and taste. It was as if I was in a meditative state. Planning my meals also gave me some peace of mind because I no longer had to worry about what to eat, how much money I was going to spend, counting my calories, etc.

Facial care

When it comes to beauty I am as low maintenance as they come. It’s only been maybe less than a year since I started using a toner and moisturizer and even less time since I started using facial scrubs and masks. But, the difference in my skin was so evident that I created a habit and now feel uncomfortable if I am not wearing a moisturizer or used my toner a certain day. My only problem was that I often forgot to use a scrub or a mask every once in a while. In order to turn this into a habit I have started to incorporate it into my self care Sundays. On Sunday night depending on what I have used during the week I alternate between using the scrub or a mask. The mask that I use is Indian Healing Clay which I picked up at Whole Foods. The mask is essentially benzonite clay. You mix it With equal parts ACV and then leave the mix on your face for 15-20 minutes. But, whatever you do don’t laugh because it is pa-in-ful.

Journaling

I must admit that since I started working I have been journaling less, maybe once or twice a week at most, but for the past couple of weeks I have been journaling on Sundays. My Sunday journaling is different than my normal journal entries. On Sundays I set my intentions for the week and put some of my worries down on paper. This allows me to acknowledge those concerns and not just let them pile up or hold me down. Setting my weekly intentions has been extremely helpful. The key for me has been to set one intention. I have found that when I set several goals it becomes overwhelming but when I set one intention it is like a snowball effect. For example, I will hold my self accountable to attending my nutritionist appointment. Since I will go see my nutritionist I am more adamant about keeping my food journal, since I am keeping my food journal I make wiser decisions about what I eat, since I am already making better decisions about food I go for a walk a few times a week, etc.

Aside from the three points above I try to do as many things that make me happy, such as, watching a good film, reading a book, walking near water. What are some of your self care Sunday rituals or routines? How do you incorporate self care during the day?

Hasta Pronto,
Isha

Side note: While listening to the podcast Happier with Gretchen Rubin I learned about the term obliger, someone who is motivated to meet the expectations of others, and it all clicked … I am an obliger. Since discovering this I have been telling people what my intentions are and have them hold me accountable. This has helped a bunch. And although I am still learning about it and trying to find ways to incorporate this behavior into my lifestyle, I encourage everyone to take the test and read up on what each type means. Find the quiz here.

Author: Reclaiming Isha

Isabel Cristina is a 25 year old Afro-Dominicana. She graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English from the City College of New York. She is a lover of books and an aspiring writer, who writes stories inspired by the Dominican diaspora. Having emigrated from the Dominican Republic as a young girl, the process of immigration and her memories of the homeland inspire her writing. She is a co-founder and the Executive Administrator of La Galeria Magazine. She is also a core sister of the Sister Circle Collective and a firm believer in creating safe spaces where women could come together, organize, share stories, and empower one another.

6 thoughts on “My Self Care Sunday Routine”

  1. I haven’t finished reading yet but ooooo girl you’re speaking my language. First thoughts – blogging IS hard and I’m thinking about my “first words back” too. Also, I LOVE my Clarisonic Mia.

    Like

Leave a Reply

